Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

November 20, 2015

The Honorable Richard Eckstrom South Carolina Comptroller General 1200 Senate Street 305 Wade Hampton Office Builling Columbia, South Carolina 29201

Dear Comptroller General Eckstrom:

On behalf of the entire Executive Subcommittee, I would like to thank you for sharing your time, knowledge and recommendations with this subcommittee, during our meeting on November 9, 2015.

During this meeting, Rep. Williams expressed a desire to ensure equal opportunity for all constitutents, and it was requested that the agency provide additional information in the agency's possession relating to any requests pertaining to meeting the requirement of Section 8-11-80, which allows the Comptroller General to make deductions from the compensation of state employees for the payment of premiums for life, hospital and other types of insurance plans. That same day your chief of staff, Mr. Eddie Gunn, provided committee staff with a copy of his correspondence with Ms. Sarah Benson. If the agency has any additional information about similar requests from other constitutents during the last ten years, please share those with the subcommittee.

Thank you and your staff for your continued cooperation during the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

Signature Redacted

Laurie Slade Funderburk First Vice-Chair, House Legislative Oversight Committee

cc: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton The Honorable Joshua Putnam The Honorable Robert Q. Williams